The “Wayward” was formed in the Autumn of 1982 when John Morton,Peter Convery,Len Gilligan and Tom Cockburn,departed Troon for a week-end of golf in glorious perthshire.
The first competition comprised a series of fourball matchplay games over Blairgowrie (twice) and Dunkeld (twice ).There was no individual winner on that first outing although there was an individual loser who,regardless of partner failed to win a single match.On the return journey all four agreed that it had been a great success and should be repeated.Len suggested that booking tee times would be easier if we adopted a collective name and so the JOPELETO society was formed.
The name remained the same for several years until it was decided that a new name which would be more inclusive of the growing membership and possibly reflect the standard of golf being played at that time was agreed and so the “Wayward” was born.
There has only been one other “stag” week-end outing,unique in that the competition was thirty six holes played over two courses,Ladybank and Tayport.The round at Tayport was interrupted by a violent thunder storm forcing the entire party to return to Troon and play the second round over Lochgreen.
Other highlights might include the four week-end outings with spouses or significant others (more commonly referred to as the Wayward Wives)These took place at Dalmahoy (twice) and Ross Priory (twice).They were a great success not least because the ladies added a touch of glamour to the event and the winner not only got the trophy but usually spent the night with one of the ladies.
Alas the week-end outing was a brief interlude in the wayward history and it reverted to the normal formula which maintains to this day.


Information courtesy of Tom Cockburn